silent thanksgiving

Posted: November 25, 2010 in All and Sundry, Musings

 

photo by jean claire dy 2010

Back in my country, I have never celebrated Thanksgiving because it isn’t part of our tradition. So last year when everybody started preparing for it, I seriously panicked because I had no plans. I told myself “well, I’ll just spend the rest of the break from schoolwork by reading, watching movies online, and just plainly being lazy. Besides, I’m not American.” Finding myself in the middle of the holiday frenzy was no less than a really terrible experience of peer pressure. Fortunately, my cousin George invited me to his last minute Thanksgiving party. I enjoyed the get-together, turkey and all, which became more of like a reunion of Filipinos of sorts rather than a real American Thanksgiving dinner. But who cares anyway. It wasn’t such a big deal for me.

This year, I told myself the same thing. I didn’t get invites. I only received one after I asked my cousins in Jersey what they were planning. So I decided I would just spend the rest of the break in my room still doing the same thing I planned to do on breaks–watch movies online, read books ( I made sure to borrow 5 books from the library last week), play video games, chain smoke and drink lots of alcohol. Yes, by myself.

Let’s see how this will turn out. As of this writing, I’m sitting in the living room, drinking wine, watching a tv series on Hulu and pondering over the painful silence that engulfs me, and the blank spaces I felt the strong urge to fill.

But indeed there are still so much to be thankful for today and every day of the year. Really.  🙂

Comments
  1. johnnypanic says:

    mao ni ang pic from that cam ter? ka nindot bitaw sa colors! ug yay to the new entry! 🙂

Leave a Reply

