Dreaming in Fall

Posted: September 30, 2010 in All and Sundry, Musings

photo taken with a Samsung mobile phone

So what is it about the beginning of Fall that makes me utterly exhausted every end of the day? I know, I know, it’s the change of season (something I’m definitely not used to) and what have you, but really there must be more to this than meets the eye. Or maybe I’m finding myself in this mood again–constant contemplation, ruminating about such trivial things as Fall and falling and falling alone.

Once while at the 9th floor of Arnold Hall, I was reading chapters from a book of Managing Creativity, and I suddenly looked up to see this sight of buildings framed by a glass window. And I was suddenly jolted back by this reminder that I am still in New York, urban jungle where they say “dreams are made of” and yet I realized, I haven’t been dreaming really. Lately every time I wake up, I don’t even recall my dreams much less my nightmares. And I keep wondering if it’s better to be caught in some horrifying reverie than sleep, dream, and not remember anything at all.

Somewhere out there in one of these buildings, someone is sleeping in this windy Fall afternoon, dreaming….

Leave a Reply

