Bibliophile’s flavor for June: Cormac McCarthy’s “The Road”

Posted: June 29, 2010 in books

Just recently a friend bought me books and magazines from the Borders outlet at the La Guardia airport, while we were on our way to Las Vegas. I wanted to have something to read during the long flight because I didn’t want to end up sleeping all the time while we cross over to the West Coast. There were so many selections in the Fiction books nook, I wanted to buy almost everything I saw there. But my friend offered this book by Cormac McCarthy titled “The Road,” which I discovered was made into a motion picture starring Vigo Mortensen. Incidentally, the  book  I got has the movie poster as cover. “I know you like to read the book before watching the movie, ” my friend said.

I have never been a fan of Cormac McCarthy’s fiction because I haven’t read enough of his works. But I agreed to getting the book for the reason that I desperately needed something to read at the time. I needed to be entertained. I needed to enjoy words again. I needed to marvel at wonderful prose. The New Yorker magazine we bought won’t suffice for the next 6 hours despite that Nicole Krauss’s short story “The Young Painters” in the current issue proved to be an impressive read. A novel is always the best choice for escape. And it seemed that Cormac McCarthy would give me what I needed.

Well, I wasn’t proven wrong. “The Road” is a very well-written book. The first 10 pages proved that to me. I haven’t finished it yet but vow to at the end of my vacation here in the Sin City. But one thing I can say for sure is that Cormac McCarthy’s prose is a delight to read. I think his works should be must-reads for Fiction class.

Leave a Reply

