Disquiet (slideshow interpretation of sound piece)

Posted: November 8, 2009 in All and Sundry, Art Attacks, commentary, current events, MA Media Studies
Tags: , , ,

This is when I said honestly in class that I really don’t know what I’m doing and that I am really lost. So when I wove this slideshow together, I just relied so much on intuition. Unlike in my other projects, especially in photography when I have really clear concepts in mind. This one straddles the emotional and artsy design structures (Laybourne’s terms for types of slideshows).

I wanted to capture these barrage of images, MTV style, related to the anxiety caused by the swine flu scare. It is more internal, I supposed. And wanted to really work within the limits of the slideshow as a medium. I edited this on iMovie because I still don’t have Final Cut Pro in my Macbook Pro. Soon, soon.

When the professor saw it, she immediately told me that there are so many images and she suggested to use black screen in some parts. I don’t know if I understood her correctly. But here it is, pillage me if you want, or comment on how crudely it was done. There’s no harm in trying. πŸ™‚

Next week, I’ll start shooting and editing footage for my two-channel video portrait installation piece. I’m verrrrrrry excited about that. This time, I’m not lost, and I have a clear concept. Got a storyboard too. πŸ™‚

I love learning really. Love it. There’s no end to learning. πŸ™‚

PS: The other images on the slideshow were taken under creative commons license. There is no intention to break copyright laws.

Leave a Reply

