Another blessing!

Posted: August 19, 2009 in All and Sundry

…. and so on the eve of my departure for Manila then for New York, I get something worth blogging about. To my weirded-out surprise, I received an email from the EIC of the Philippine Free Press informing me that I am one of the finalists for this year’s awards under the short story category.

I’m sure I’m not going to win a major prize, really. But I’m still grateful that the judges recognized my short story “Big Yellow,” which took about 5 years to write. And which is really the last short story I ever published recently. It’s a story that I hold close to my heart because it was the most painful to write.

I find it weird that I get this unexpected email a few days before I leave for New York to follow a different field away from Creative Writing. Yet, I am still thankful for this blessing. 🙂

*PS: I wont’ be able to make it to the awarding ceremony because I’ll be in New York by that time already. So to the winners and finalists, congratulations!


Leave a Reply

