RIP President Corazon “Cory” Aquino and Thank You!

Posted: August 1, 2009 in All and Sundry, commentary, current events
Tags:

coryaquino

One of my favorite childhood memories was wearing a yellow dress to attend a rally with my mother for Corazon Aquino in the 80s a few years before the Edsa People’s Power Revolution. I was just a kid then but who knew that that would turn out to be one of the most influential moments in my life. At a young age, I knew it was a significant event so that when my beloved president, the late President Corazon Aquino finally became the first woman president of our country, I was aware that I was part of a historical period. I was raised in a transition period when the democracy that my mother fought for in the streets became finally a reality for my generation to reap. I admit at times that I forget all these, but most of the time I am conscious that such privileges and freedom I enjoy today were the fruits of the labor of people before me.

Everything that I wanted to say my mother already said when she sent me these text messages early this morning:

“Pres Cory Aquino is gone but my short moments with her captured in photos will live. She was a good leader, a just president, and a wonderful person. Joine me to take a bow to our One and Only President Cory.”

My mother served as city councilor during President Cory’s term because she believed in Cory’s vision and leadership. Maybe critics were wrong in saying that Cory was a lame duck president during the last years of her presidency because even after that she never retreated from the public but instead was still very much involved in our country’s affairs. She served as conscience, a reminder, symbol for a democracy that was once so out of reach. And even if sometimes, I disagree with her views, I have always admired her for taking a stand, for not being a fencesitter, for just caring.

These times are significant for us too. Three presidents after, I think we are at the precipice of a transition. We need to be reminded that the liberties we enjoy now should not be taken for granted. Same way that we need someone like Cory who could rally this nation towards a clear vision.

I thank the late President Corazon Aquino for paving the way. She has influenced my life more than she knew. May she rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

