Lea Salonga’s NY survival guide

Posted: July 6, 2009 in All and Sundry
Tags: , , ,

I’m a big fan of Lea Salonga’s blog and her column “Backstory” in Inquirer.net.( Obviously because I’m a fan of her since I was 8 years old.)  Anyway, this recent article she wrote offers good advice for me who’s soon leaving for NY. I’ve been wondering about walking, you know the endless walking which I’m not a fan of, and Lea offers really helpful advice: have a good pair of shoes. Here’s her article. I’m sharing it to those who are planning to visit the place. 🙂

“How does one make a trip to this wonderful city something to remember? Does it include visits to the tourist spots, Broadway and Off-Broadway shows, sports events, and restaurants? Does it mean travel on foot, by train, or by cab?

Here’s what it means for me:

1) Plenty of walking. New York City is a fantastic place to walk. The sidewalks are quite wide (no invasion of personal space) and there are many interesting shops and restaurants you can dart in and out of while on a trek.

A piece of advice: Make sure you have a good pair of walking shoes. No, not your pretty ballet flats or Brazilian-branded flip-flops. I mean something with cushioning and support, lest you’re looking to get a bad bunion.” read more here

Here’s what it means for me:
1) Plenty of walking. New York City is a fantastic place to walk. The sidewalks are quite wide (no invasion of personal space) and there are many interesting shops and restaurants you can dart in and out of while on a trek.
A piece of advice: Make sure you have a good pair of walking shoes. No, not your pretty ballet flats or Brazilian-branded flip-flops. I mean something with cushioning and support, lest you’re looking to get a bad bunion.

Leave a Reply

