Circa 90s (remembering the Endhouse Artists days)

Posted: July 6, 2009 in All and Sundry, Musings, photography
Tags: , , ,
photo by yvette malahay kim/ circa 90s

photo by yvette malahay kim/ circa 90s

Circa 90s photo of me taken with film by Dumaguete artist Yvette Malahay-Kim at the yard of the Endhouse gallery, the former hous of Dr. Faurot located near Edith Carson Hall in Silliman Universtiy. I think I was around 18 years old at the time this was taken.

I grabbed this from the latest photo album she uploaded about our Endhouse Artists Days. It was so much fun and amusing looking at the photos. Reminded me of how proud we were when we finished setting up that gallery. Looking back now, I’m proud of being part of that history of artists in Silliman University and Dumaguete as a whole. It felt like such a long time ago yet the memories are very vivid and clear for me. The camarederie, the friendships, the laughter, the discussions, the heartaches, even the fights, were all worth it.

In one of the photos an image of the late Kennedy Rubias stares back at me and I recalled the last time we talked. In Kahayag Cafe one night in Cebu, I heared a man with long hair and beads around his wrist call out to me “Claire? Claire? Kaw na?” And I remember how I was so happy to see a familiar face, one of my early mentors in visual arts especially, during that turbulent time in my life. That was the last time I saw him. A year after, when I was already in Davao, I receive a text message from Jutse telling me that Kennedy died.

But above everything else, I guess the pictures are a reminder of amazingly far I have traveled, figuratively and literally. I will never be ashamed of my past (as some people I know are). Those things (bad or good) made me who I am right now. It is always filled with moments of celebration, these acts of remembering.

Leave a Reply

