Stress Free But Gaining Weight

Posted: June 26, 2009 in All and Sundry

Since I resigned and my contract ended at the University, I have been sleeping entire mornings everyday. I don’t know why but it seems that my body is trying to collect and compensate for all the lack of sleep I had in the five years I was working in the University. Someone told me that it’s good that I have time for myself before I leave for graduate studies, which I kinda of agreed with except that sometimes it’s been really easy to give in to the boredom and tedium of nothing else to do. I think I have been trying so hard to adjust to my present rhythym which is far from the stress-filled one I had last year and a year ago when I was juggling projects here and there on top of teaching. Methinks I am a closet workaholic.

But no worries. I guess I feel much better now that I have time to do my DIY projects and other activities I’m happy to be doing minus the stress. I have enough sleep too. Yeah, I oversleep also. Might be the reason why today someone told me I’ve been gaining weight rapidly “because of oversleeping.” Otherwise, another person told me that I look healthier, filled in the right parts, but healthier compared to how haggard and skinny I looked a few months back.

The thing is, I don’t want to look plump. Sigh. Figures why my clothes won’t fit me anymore. And due to my going cold turkey on smoking, I’m also eating like crazy.

So when does one say being stress free is good when one isn’t gaining weight to boot?

Comments
  1. Jerick says:

    i wish i could provide you with a good answer. but whether i’m stressed or not, i’m still fat. 😦

  2. reefer says:

    haha. thanks for the comment. i know. it’s easier to gain weight and harder to lose ’em extra pounds. so, i also don’t have a good answer. hope somebody can share some for us. 🙂

Leave a Reply

