R.I.P Jacko

Posted: June 26, 2009 in All and Sundry, current events, Music Reviews, Musings

Before I flew home to Davao last January after celebrating New Year in Cebu City, my friends Bombee, Blessy, and I had a videoke party in one of those unassuming, quaint videoke bars lined along Mango Street. They had convinced me to drink a few beers and sing videoke style with them over the night until my 3am flight. I knew it was risky because there was a big chance that I’d be late for boarding, but my friends were very convincing.

Anyway, the most memorable moment of that party was when Bombee and Blessy both stood up to sing and dance to Michael Jackson’s Thriller. After a few bars, they managed to pull me out of my cocoon of a chair, and we all ended up doing the Thriller dance moves that were surprisingly still etched in our memories. I remember laughing out loud while we were doing the zombie moves. It felt like being in the movie 13 Going On 30 as we all squealed, “thriller!” in unison.

That’s how memorable Michael Jackson songs are for us who grew up in the 80s. So finding out this morning that he died of cardiac arrest sent chills to my spine. For me, Jacko’s death symbolically signifies the death of an era, a past that will be lost, and a reminder that we have indeed all grown up. It is time to leave Neverland. 🙂

I bet he’ll still be wearing his glove and clicking his shoes out there in the big unknown.

Leave a Reply

