Taboan (a quick note)

Posted: February 15, 2009 in All and Sundry
Tags:

resil-and-me

Got so much to say and so little time. Tomorrow, I have to return to the old grind–lectures, marking papers, and what not. So the longer blog entry about the Taboan ’09 Philippines International Writers Festival will have to wait. And like I said, I’ve got a mouthful to say–bad and good. Nevertheless, kudos to Commissioner Ricky de Ungria, the NCCA, RockEd and the staff for a job well done despite a few glitches. I still think the whole idea and the effort is commendable.

The photo here shows the first time I got completely startstruck when I found myself standing beside the venerable Resil Mojares, author of the House of Memory. He is THE Filipino essayist I would always look up to. I strive to write essays like he does, with all the luminosity and unconscious critical/historical wisdom I can muster. I love this writer!

The photo serves as a teaser of the entry that’s to come. ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments
  1. yas says:

    growl! growl! rooooooar! (inggit mode.)

    sigh. gusto ta ko adto. eva saw you there, though. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. reefer says:

    hehe. so why didn’t you go? eva? i didn’t see her. perhaps i was too busy with a lot of distractions.

Leave a Reply

