Slumdog Millionaire is MY best picture

Posted: February 8, 2009 in All and Sundry, commentary, film, Film Reviews

slumdog_millionaire_poster

This is a long overdue post because I saw the movie last Sunday. But yes, it has to be said. Slumdog Millionaire really blew me away. Director Danny Boyle did it with Trainspotting, now he did it again. No more words to say. I LOVE this movie. Now THAT’S great storytelling people!

As for The Reader, which I watched yesterday, it made me cry so many times. I don’t know if it will go down in my best films list, but I must say, Kate Winslet was really good in that movie. I get a feeling that she will win the Oscar for this one. And the boy who plays Michael was a perfect fit for the role too. Those were my memorable characters. I’m ambivalent about Ralph Fiennes approach to his character though. Maybe because I really didn’t like his character. So inept and righteous, I wanted to strangle him.

Comments
  1. Lyka Bergen says:

    I Love Slumdog too and I agree with you on The Reader but Benjamin Button is my Best Picture still.

  2. reefer says:

    Slumdog is my best picture. 🙂

  3. stickslip says:

    Uy Claire: Kumusta na? When are you going here to the US? Have you decided on a school?

    I just blogged about Eve Ensler and Camille Paglia. Thought you might like the post. Which feminist do you think I like? Ha!

    http://stickslip.wordpress.com/2009/02/10/finally-a-feminist-i-like-part-1/

    http://stickslip.wordpress.com/2009/02/10/finally-a-feminist-i-like-part-2-end/

    Sorry for the shameless plug!

    Ted

Leave a Reply

