Cleaning Rooms, Making Space

Posted: January 11, 2009 in All and Sundry
Tags: ,

“Come, come, whoever you are./ Wonderer, worshipper, lover of leaving./It doesn’t matter./Ours is not a caravan of despair./Come, even if you have broken your vow a thousand times/ Come, yet again, come, come.” — Rumi

me modeling my fave led zepellin shirt with my new curtains as backdrop

me modeling my fave led zepellin shirt with my new curtains as backdrop

Part of my 2009 To Do list is to follow a regular cleaning schedule for my room. And the only way to fulfill this promise to myself I realized is that I’ll have to just hire someone to clean it. No more guilt trip. I’ll have to admit that I’m not an expert on cleaning rooms. It usually takes me an entire day to make it spic and span, which often takes another “expert cleaner” around two hours or so. To make the long story short, I hired someone to clean my room yesterday. And I was ecstatic having to finally change my curtains to those that sport a colorful bright red and yellow pattern that so far creates a more positive “hospitable” vibe to my space compared to the old one I have been using last year.

This is the start of a major “clean-up drive.” My life, my room, my windows, everything needs a good scrub here and there, and a bit of dusting in the corners. Not because they were messy in the first place, but because that’s just the way it should be when seasons change, things don’t have to stay where they always are to gather all the moss.Fresh sheets, crisp and neatly smoothened are most welcome all the time.

Always, always, it is all about giving space for the new and letting go of the old, extra, more often useless baggage accumulated over the past year’s journey. Travel light, so they say. 🙂

In parting, here are what I’ve learned about cleaning rooms:

a) If you’re hiring someone else to do it, always provide her/him a new broom. And make sure it is durable not like those that usually loses their straws while you’re sweeping the floor. I mean, that defeats the purpose right?

b) Always tell your cleaner the specific details on how you would like your room arranged. For instance, where should she/he put the black dresses in your closet, or where do accessories belong, among other pertinent information.

c) This one is my quirky touch. I have to remind the cleaner to put all slips of paper that look like receipts or important documents inside one small box I’ve provided. If there’s one thing I really dread it is losing important papers that I know I’ll need it the future. I’m a pack rat in that way, a paper collector of sorts.

There, three things. (As far as I can recall.) If you have something else to add to this list, feel free to comment.

Leave a Reply

