My Christmas 2008 Wishlist

Posted: December 8, 2008 in All and Sundry, Musings
Tags:

Let’s start with the material obsessions before going deeper into the intangible ones. Those can’t be bought, so I guess they’ll have to wait. *wink*

1) Reborn: Journals and Notebooks, 1947-1963 by Susan Sontag

41zdgsibdil_ss500_
My friend Douglas sent me a link of an article by Deborah Eisenberg titled “Becoming Susan” on this book, and I definitely fell in love with it. Curiously, this following passage from the article  was the clinching factor as it convinced me enough:

“Sontag’s own apparent conviction, sustained until several weeks before she died, was that the laws of mortality would be, if not canceled, at least suspended in her case. And rather than resolving her evident ambivalence about exposing her private writings, she allowed death to bequeath the ambivalence to her son, David Rieff. This we adduce from Rieff’s decorous and deeply moving introduction to Reborn: Journals and Notebooks, 1947–1963, the earliest and first to be published of three volumes, which begins when its author was just shy of fifteen. A late entry in the book indicates that Sontag began to keep a journal at twelve, but whether these earliest entries have been lost or were simply not reproduced is unclear.”

It is always interesting to read into the mind of a great writer and critic like Susan. It would also be interesting to find out how her son edited her thoughts.

I am currently debating whether to buy the hardcover version of this book at amazon.com or not.

2) Aside from books, my greatest obsessions include shoes. (Yes, I finally admitted it in my blog!) My friends and relatives used to often tease me by calling me “Imeldific” because of my love affair with shoes of all shapes and sizes.

Last month in Manila, I spent almost an entire day searching for the perfect pair of red ankle Mod-inspired boots at Trinoma. But alas! I couldn’t find any. The disadvantage was that I wasn’t able to go to MegaMall, Eastwood, or other malls to scout for my dream shoes, because I was staying in Diliman and those places felt so far for me. Besides, I didn’t have anyone to go shopping with. Everyone I knew were either too busy or too tired.

Anyway, I was surfing the net tonight, and I saw the perfect pair of Mod boots from Fornarina! It’s not red, but it’s still perfect. See picture.

got this pic from shopmycloset.blogspot.com

got this pic from shopmycloset.blogspot.com

I wish I could stumble upon this pair, even the closest approximation of its design, in Cebu next week. I would definitely scream in delight. I saved up enough for my dream pair this Christmas. But if there’s a kind soul who’s willing to buy them for me, why not? *wink*

3) Odissi Dance: Choka Stepping 1-10 Classical Indian Dance Instructional DVD (Vol.1) by Coleena

image from amazon.com

image from amazon.com

I don’t even have to explain this. I LOVE Odissi. And over the past 3 years, I have been searching for the perfect instructional video to complement my own practice, as well as to add to my growing dance video collection. I found Coleena’s DVD at amazon.com. I’m just trying to figure out how I could buy this through PayPal. It seems that amazon doesn’t accept PayPal, so I guess that means purchasing it through my credit card, which I am seriously trying not to do. Control. Control.

4) Nikon D40x

Last but definitely NOT the least in my list is of course another long term obsession. A digital slr! Indeed, indeed. A newbie’s camera like the Nikon D40x is fine by me. Works wonders this one, according to reviews and photographer friends. Perfect for my arms too. Not too heavy, not too techie. If I get this one, then I’m willing to let go of the others at the top of this list. A camera is a woman’s bestfriend. Make that a “camwhore’s” bestfriend. But seriously, I do want one a digital SLR this Christmas, and I guess it’s about time that I finally pursue that dream.

So there, that’s my wishlist. I’m posting it not as an act of passive agression, or a mendicant plea, but more because I wanted to see if anyone is also wishing the same things for herself/himself. As the Pinoys would say “libre ang damgo” (dreams are free).

Leave a Reply

