Meditations on happiness

Posted: December 4, 2008 in All and Sundry

“This is love: to fly toward a secret sky, to cause a hundred veils to fall each moment. First to let go of life. Finally, to take a step without feet.”–Rumi

For some people cynicism has been a kind of refuge, the easiest lens to wear when looking at the world. But for me, at this point in my life, cynicism no longer offers a challenge but it has become like a bad habit, and for drama, more like an abomination.

Secretly, I laugh at people who act cynical just because they think it’s cool. But for the most part, I understand those who really are teetering on the jaded edge of hope and despair. Being in the between of such polarities is a rather numbing experience. It makes you cynical without even knowing it.

Recent events in my life this year (yes this is a series of end-of-the-year posts) has taught me that there are other ways to look at the world. So right at this moment, I pledge that I will see the world in a different light. I will love being alive. I will love being who I am. I will love every person who made this life meaningful. I will be grateful even for every pitfall, for every pain, because those challenges made me who I am today. I will thank the universe for the blessings it has provided and the doors it has opened for me.

It is not too late to just be happy. I shall celebrate each moment, every day, onwards.

Comments
  1. “Secretly, I laugh at people who act cynical just because they think it’s cool.”

    – It’s not much of a secret now, is it?

    you don’t choose to be cynical. If there’s a way to be happy why not? Sad fact is, things don’t always work to your advantage and the only refuge is to be cynical. Distrust can save you from budol-budol. hehe…

    Besides, being cynical on cynics is cynicism, isn’t it?

  2. claire says:

    hmmm interesting response.. distrust should not be equated with cynicism. or naivete and cynicism don’t even fall on the same category. 🙂

    but im not even trying to be cynical on cynics. being cynical is just one way of looking at the world. that’s what i meant. either way, if you’re happy staying that way, and it works for you, well i’m not one to judge.

  3. claire says:

    and besides, you don’t have to be so sarcastic.

Leave a Reply

