Why I’ll never be a food critic

Posted: September 22, 2008 in All and Sundry, Musings
Tags:
mocha maja

triple blizzard ©jeanclairedy 2008

I can never be a food critic, much less work as a full-time writer who reviews restos and food, because my stomach can only handle small amounts of food (not even a mix of different dishes) in one occassion. I realized this last Saturday when I went out with my journalist friend to enjoy free lunch at Bigby’s, the new branch at Torres St. here in Davao. The manager was gracious enough to prepare a wide array food–the resto’s special and most popular offerings from platters, pasta, to yummy desserts. My favorites were the Strawberry and Mango shake mixed with Basil, the Belly Buster, which contained the juiciest sweetest Babyback ribs I’ve tasted here in years, and the Triple Blizzard, three cream puffs with ice cream fillings in three flavors. Imagine me eating all of those mentioned and more! Despite that I tried so hard to partake of the food in bite-sized quantities, my stomach still managed to surrender after half an hour and could no longer handle more food (to my dismay!). To make matters worse, my stomach started grumbling on my way home. I nursed a stomach ache the entire afternoon. 😦

ticky wacky salad and the belly buster

ticky wacky salad and the belly buster ©jeanclairedy 2008

mocha maja

mocha maja ©jeanclairedy 2008

Don’t get me wrong. It wasn’t because of the food per se. All the food I ate at Bigby’s that Saturday were delicious and well prepared. I just cannot handle eating lots of them.

Oh, I also remembered taking pictures of my favorite delights, and realized food photography is such a difficult thing to do. You have to make the food look enticing. Of course food stylist know how to do this but it’s no fun not being able to eat the food you’re taking pictures of. Don’t you think? 🙂

deep sea pasta

deep sea pasta ©jeanclairedy 2008

Leave a Reply

