My boyfriend’s jeans

Posted: September 15, 2008 in fashion, Musings, Notes on the Side
Tags:

file photo from fashionising.com

On a less serious note, the boyfriend’s jeans trend is a cool retro look, circa 90s, that I really welcome. Although not all women can pull this off, because it is meant for those who have longer legs, I am happy that it’s back. The whole casual look is back. And now I can finally say goodbye to skinny tight jeans!

Back in the 90s, baggy denims were my favorite get-ups. They’re easier to slip into, and they can be paired with all kinds of blouses. I always wore my baggy jeans (twice cuffed) with a pair of black Converse sneakers or with a cute brown pair of Birkenstocks that always exudes that vintage look.

Now, fashion advisers write that the boyfriend’s jeans can be paired with more feminine footwear to modernize the get-up, adding a sort of mix-and-match feel to the entire ensemble. Sample of this modern take on the baggy jeans can be found in pictures of celebrities like Victoria Beckham and Rachel Bilson who seem to know how to wear the trend with style and class.

So just after arriving home from work, I immediately raided my “old clothes closet” searching for a vintage pair of Levis that my boyfriend gave me a few years back. And when I finally found it, I excitedly tried them on, and couldn’t help but gush at how the fabric felt so wonderfully smooth. “Nothing beats vintage Levis denims…” I muttered.

Hmm… I think it’s time to ask my boyfriend if he has more of those unwanted pairs in his closet. 🙂

Comments
  1. kiday says:

    skinny man gamay nino te. skinny baggy ang gawas

  2. moonjunkie says:

    wai pag ka skinny ni. dijud tapot sa panit. ug dili naka v. straight cut pa ata..

  3. reefer says:

    straight jud. 🙂

  4. hot filipina says:

    How do I add this to my RSS reader? Sorry I’m a newbie 😦

Leave a Reply

