Digital Storytelling Mindanao

Posted: April 26, 2008 in All and Sundry, commentary, current events, Musings

Finally, I got the extra time to start the digital storytelling blog I promised my friends and my students I would put up. I created the blog over at podbean.com, which offered surprises like its partnership with WordPress so that the blog templates actually work like WordPress blogs. Coolness. I didn’t have a hard time going about the interface. Yeah, I know there are a lot of sites out there that offer Vloging services but I guess I just converted to Podbean.

The digital storytelling site is one of my dreams (kookie dreams actually) for Mindanao. I don’t know how to explain it here without sounding cheesy and idealistic. But yes, I do plan to invite other people to share their digital stories in the site.

Dubbed “Digital Storytelling Mindanao,” the blog I hope will be the online source for digital stories in or of Mindanao. I do hope it will spin off to becoming the Center for Digital Storytelling in Mindanao, what with a planned partnership with MindaNews.TV in the offing. The blog will contain 3-minute digital stories created by Mindanawon students, teachers, doctors, fishermen, all sorts who are willing to share their lives to the world.

As of the moment, I am just working alone on this and currently grappling with time and equipment. My PC’s forever complaining. So the blog isn’t as cooked yet as it should be.

Hopefully, this will start my dream of sharing digital storytelling skills among communities in Mindanao so that people will learn to tell their own personal narratives themselves without waiting for outsiders do it for them.

Again, you will not find grand narratives of Mindanao in Digital Storytelling Mindanao” blog. Rather, you will find individual narratives that are equally important as any ideological story there is out there in the woods. *wink*

Leave a Reply

