Notes on the Side: “On Mineral Cosmetics”

Posted: March 9, 2008 in Notes on the Side

cosminology.jpgSpeaking of make-up (see my previous blog entry), I just recalled that most of the actresses who attended the Oscars had beautifully painted faces, with Katherine Heigl as a major exception. (What the hell was she thinking?) The celebs who wore the best make-up that night as cited by Hollywood Reporter were Particia Arquette and Jennifer Gardner. So out of boredom, I surfed the Web for the various cosmetics brands the actresses wore on that night, and stumbled upon the Cosminology website, which sells specifically Mineral Make-up online.

The site has an interesting tagline:

Cosminology: dermacles minnacles,heavenly minerals for earth angels

So basically just by the sound of it, this site offers cosmetic products made out of minerals, hence the term Mineral Make up. As the website writes:

Cosminology was created by Dr. Dima Ali, M.D. and inspired by her personal sensitivity to harsh, over the counter and prescription strength topical treatments. As a long-time acne sufferer with a propensity for hyperpigmentation, Dr. Dima began to combine varying strengths of potent, rejuvenating ingredients with natural, anti-inflammatory botanical extracts and essential oils to treat her own skin conditions and those of her patients.

Here’s my not-so-expert objective review:

1. The color scheme. Despite the first impression that the tri-color scheme is Revlon-esque, surprisingly the scheme works well for the site. The baby-pink used for the navigation headers, provides subtle contrast to the dark black and blue-grey main colors of the site, and the site’s header.

2. Easy navigation. As I have mentioned before in my other website reviews, I like commercial sites that have an user-friendly interface. Precisely because when you’re an online shopper, time is of the essence to you. So you need to be directed directly and quickly to the product that you intend to buy. For instance, when I clicked on Lipstick in the Cosminology site, I was easily directed to a page where all kinds of mineral lipsticks are showcased with their corresponding prices.

3. Testimonials. Believe it or not, a commercial site that contains a testimonial page does have good online marketing savvy. Believe them or not, testimonials do help in product sales.

4. Last but not the least, I think the term Mineral Make-up is clever enough. It provides me a sense of “earthy” appeal. The threat of using chemical-ridden cosmetics is no longer there because “minerals” are natural by-products of the earth, hence they can’t be harsh on the skin. The site’s invitation is perfect for their product: BE AN EARTH ANGEL.

Who wants to be a demon anyway? To be an earth angel, the site purports that one must wear mineral cosmetics. Hmm….

Comments
  1. globetrotteri says:

    Try http://www.sephora.com Their make-up is out of this world and suitable from beginners to make-up mavens like myself.

    If you’re interested in make-up as an art form, start with the late Kevyn Aucoin, who has mastered the art of painting a human canvas. There’s no better place to begin. His make-up artistry literally transforms people. He made history with his book, Face Forward, in 2000 when he transformed stars like Gwyneth Paltrow into James Dean, Martha Steward into Veronica Lake and a gaggle of other truly remarkable creations.

  2. Melissa says:

    I have used Dr. Dima’s Cosminology Mineral Makeup for about 6 months now and I love it! I love the way it makes my skin look and feel(very soft and natural), and the added SPF protection is an added plus! I know why the celebrities who wore her makeup to the Oscars looked so great- because the makeup is awesome! Cosminology is the only thing I put on my face.

  3. lety says:

    I use Dr. Dima’s Cosminology line and I love it. Its easy and makes my skin look perfect. I like being an Earth Angel.

Leave a Reply

