Hellish February

Posted: February 21, 2008 in All and Sundry
Tags:

“Security is mostly a superstition. It does not exist in nature… Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.”– Helen Keller.

February is usually hell-month for us at the University because it’s when almost all the school programs and activities are scheduled. This year particularly, February has been “hellish” for me, I mean literally. And I’m not exaggerating. I’m sure Bisaya and Johnnypanic also feel the same way. This week is overwhelmingly tiresome, what with preparations for certain “important” program exhibits and performance poetry show hanging over our heads and almost sinking in to rest on our weary shoulders.

“We’re the power of two,” I quipped to Johnnypanic yesterday while we were brainstorming over coke, yakisoba, and cigarettes at the kubo store near school.

Today, everything just got dumped on our feet. Good thing though, we have really enthusiastic and hardworking students (and I am NOT sugarcoating) who have creative ideas in their invisible idea bags, and who we could trust to implement the projects.

I am immensely grateful yet also immensely exhausted, mind you. I haven’t stopped to breathe since last week as Sam aka Smoothriver was here for a photo project we are collaborating on. Over the weekend, we were traveling the whole time. Somehow, I welcomed his presence in my otherwise perfunctory near to sedimentary (oops!) sedentary academic life. I had fun working with him, and I think I had too much fun, that I forgot to breathe in the middle. After he left on Tuesday, suddenly I was deluged again with the reality of other projects waiting to be finished. God knows when all these must end.

Not that I am completely complaining. I enjoy being busy in a sick way. It’s my mother’s blood in me.

Speaking of other projects, Sinews of Sylllables Part 2 is slated next week, end of hellish February. Afterwhich, I might probably be able to get some breathing space before working on another major project. Life is too short for us to sit around and wait for the next big, exciting thing, if you know what I mean.

Comments
  1. denciojuan says:

    kurek!!! and i’m sure, johnnypanic made kwento already about what happened last night. if you have no idea, then read my latest post…

    then you will really feel the anger…

Leave a Reply

