Unsent Letters

Posted: February 10, 2008 in All and Sundry
Tags: ,

Epistolary lyrics like Alanis Morisette’s Unsent or Barbie Cradle’s Dear Paul have always managed to melt my heart, especially if the songs are written and arranged the perfect way–the melody along with vocals successfully evoke the kind of feeling the letter is meant to achieve.

These days I find myself listening to Emiliana Torrini (my latest discovery through my sister Pearl) and ironically, Missing Felimon (a Cebuano rock band). The two songs are both in the epistolary form but written in different langauges–Torrini’s is in English and Missing Felimon’s is in Bisaya, and with different conceits, but both are able to put a smile on my face everyday. There’s something really magical about music that touches, especially if they sound like unsent letters sang from the heart.

Here’s a peek at the lyrics of Sunny Road by Emilliana Torrini:

I never married
Never had those kids
I loved too many
Now heaven’s closed its gates.
I know I’m bad
To jump on you like this
Some things don’t change
My middle name’s still ‘Risk’
I know that night
So long long time ago
Will you still meet me
On the sunny road

It’s time, meet me on the sunny road
It’s time, meet me on the sunny road

Well, this is it
I’m running out of space —I like this bit as it signals that the speaker is writing a letter in a hurry, finally saying the words and never letting the moment pass by. 🙂
Here is my address
And number just in case.
This time as one
We’ll find which way to go

Now come and meet me
On the sunny road

listen to Sunny Road here.

for Missing Felimon’s Inday, click this entry.

(too bad I can’t embed imeem in wordpress)

Leave a Reply

