Notes on the Side: “On Moving”

Posted: February 3, 2008 in Notes on the Side

The act of moving is as stressful as leaving for good. It usually takes so much of your emotions and time to pack for what Merilie Alunan calls “the barest need.” To decide which ones to leave and which things to bring with you, is a difficult act. You can never return and say, “oh my, I wish I had brought those.” But moving is also the best time to get rid of the clutter in your life, figuratively and literally speaking.

I remember when we decided to move from one apartment to another one near UPMin. It took us a week to transfer our things because we failed to hire professional movers, not that there were movers for hire in this part of the City. At some point, when I had to do back-breaking work by carting all the books I have accumulated here, I kind of wished that schools like UPMin should have services that would help teachers relocate. But of course, that was too much to ask.

Even looking for the perfect apartments or houses for rent once you’ve decided to move is stressful too. It took me more than a month to finally find the best one for my needs. I had to pressure my sisters to help in the search. Of course, it wasn’t easy because we had to consider so many factors, and one of those is cheap rent. 🙂 As expected, my sisters found the right apartment for us–the kind of house where I can have my own room that has a window facing a field of green, and cool breeze that wafts over the room every night. What more can you ask for right?

But then again, the nomad in me always finds ways to grow tired of houses. Perhaps, I am not the “nesting” kind. These days, I’m contemplating on moving out and moving on to another place. Not to experience another stressful week of packing and unpacking, but if only to experience the state of leaving, of cleansing the clutter that is my life. If only….

Comments
  1. KK says:

    wait till you move countries!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

