To Do List

Posted: January 30, 2008 in All and Sundry, Musings
Tags: , , ,

1. “Go on that trip. Don’t postpone it. ( check. There’s Sinulog. But more trips to come like Singapore and Siargao) 2. Say those words. Don’t let the moment pass. (hmmm… Done this before. But now, I don’t know how to say the words yet.) 3. Do what you have to, even at society’s scorn. (Duh. Look at my life.) 4. Write poetry. (Yes Yes Yes) 5. Love deeply (Very subjective. I honestly don’t know what loving deeply means). 6. Dance with wild abandon (Yes Yes Yes. And I wanna keep doing it. So I have set a time every week for myself–alone in the house and dancing to the music I love). 7. Cry at the movies (Of course!!! Done this several times!). 8. Don’t wait for someone to take care of you. You light up your life. No one completes you except YOU…” -Rick Warren

The last part is touching. I think it is a constant struggle for women to come to terms with being alone and loving oneself despite even being with someone, especially with movies like Jerry Mcguire coming up with lines like “You complete me!”

I think completeness is also a construct and a matter of point of view. To use the cliche, a person is always a work in progress. To be complete is to stop living at all. 🙂 But then again, I also like the idea that to feel complete is a matter of choice, of human agency–it is a decision that matters only for the person who decides to be “complete.”

Comments
  1. really nice one and keep it up!

    http://www.indiamatrimony.com for indian matrimonials

  2. Manish kumar says:

    Nice your thaoughts.. keep it up..

    http://www.indiabestmatch.com- Indian matrimonial website

Leave a Reply

