Mindanao’s Top 100 Blogs of 2007

Posted: January 11, 2008 in All and Sundry, Musings, Random Observations, Stumbled Upon
Tags: , , ,

This is the second information I received this week that really made me giggle and smile like a good ‘ole Cheshire Cat. I am No. 45 in Mindanao’s Top 100 Blogs of 2007.

The first news that made me smile was seeing my byline in the Philippines Free Press’s 2nd issue at the start of the year. Well, this may be misconstrued as bragging, but I’m surprisingly ecstatic about having one of my “precious” short stories (one that took me a long time to let go) published in the magazine. It was cathartic, in a way, seeing the words you labored on for so long on the page, but the same time, the sense of finality of letting go is confusingly painful. I had to stop myself from editing the entire thing all over because that would mean self-flagellation, and I vowed not to be toxic to myself this year. So there, I’m happy. 🙂

Then this afternoon, I read DavaMaguinda’s blog, and discovered the Mindanao Bloggers site came up with Mindanao’s Top 100 Blogs for 2007 list. DavaMaguinda was still happy to be at the bottom five, and because I got a bit curious, and wanting to find out if I was on the list, I clicked on the link.

I landed on number 45— meaning the upper half among the 100. Not bad for somebody who has never actively identified herself as a Mindanawon blogger or even located her blog as a Mindanao Blog. By virtue of location, I am a Mindanawon blogger and I sometimes blog about Mindanao, reason why I registered in the directory. Landing on the top 100 list changes things a bit. For me, that’s something important to mull over.

It was just recently that I started to try to increase my traffic and attempt at optimizing my blog. I have no reasons for that, just that I had some time on my hands, and that yes, I do like to be read. Other than that, my reasons are very academic and boring to some extent. I’d rather write a scholarly paper on the topic than blog about it.

But I am truly, truly happy, despite not getting the top spot. I never even expected landing on the list anyway. Thanks to all my lurkers, my one-second readers, and my mainstays for the patience to read and comment on what I have to say. 🙂

Comments
  1. johnnypanic says:

    bwahahahahahahahahaa! congrats maam! i bet you’ll get even higher on the list this year. and yeah thanks for votng pour moi at PBS! 😀

  2. reefer says:

    your welcome. we all need to pat each other’s backs, you know. after everything we’ve done. *wink* hehe 🙂

Leave a Reply

