Young Moro Writing

Posted: November 29, 2007 in All and Sundry, books, current events

 

children.jpgToday is one of my proudest days in teaching history. My former student (some four years ago) Aliah Silongan’s essay “Language Barriers” is part of an anthology of Young Moro Writing entitled “Children of the Ever-changing Moon,” which will be launched 5pm, today at the National Bookstore in SM Davao City.I am a little sad that I could not be there to cheer Aliah on but I know that I would be smiling like a Cheshire Cat once I get my hands on a copy of the book and once I get to read Aliah’s work printed on bookpaper.Aliah wrote that essay when she was in my essay writing/creative nonfiction class four years ago. I don’t remember exactly what grade I gave her for that piece, but I do remember how astute her observations are and how she was, at a young age, already capable of problematizing her positional identity as a bilingual hybrid, young, female Moro in Mindanao. I also remember that the piece made me giggle, nod in agreement, and more importantly, ponder over related issues I have been going through while coming to terms with my identity as Filipina.So when Teng Mangansakan, good friend and editor of the “Children of the Ever-changing Moon” wrote to me asking for submissions, I did not hesitate to submit Aliah’s piece. It took a few years of waiting. Now finally the book published by Anvil Press will be launched in Davao City. Rightfully so.I send my congratulations to Aliah Silongan (I’m very proud of you!), Teng Mangansakan, and the rest of the brave Young Moro Writers in the collection for adding more meaning to Philippine literature. For creating that native clearing in Moro writing. Cheers to all! -)

Comments
  1. sahara_alia says:

    Thank you so much, Ma’am Claire. It was a wonderful experience! As in. If it weren’t for you, I’d probably never get to have such privilege. Sabi nga ni Mr. Teng, a book launch doesn’t happen everyday. It was very memorable. Buti na lang I skipped class. hehe

    Thanks, thanks, thanks, Ma’am for being proud of me. wee… =0)

  2. Norhajjar says:

    And I am also proud of her. She’s such an amazing and very intelligent person.

Leave a Reply

