Unlucky Day

Posted: October 27, 2007 in All and Sundry, Musings

Boy! Am I having a bad day! Here I was quite excited about joining the 1st Mindanao Bloggers Summit but on the day of the summit, I couldn’t make it. Last night, I had a major bout of ague (simply put, feverish chills) due to flu and was sneezing and wheezing like hell. When I woke up today my joints were all swollen even though I no longer had fever. I couldn’t even get out of bed without cringing in pain–bones creaking, shoulder muscles tight and a piercing migraine to boot. Darn. If only I had taken dozens of Vit C tablets for the past days. I have been feeling stressed and fatigue lately but have decided to ignore the signs because well, I would like to believe I have a strong immune system. (*roll eyeballs) And that my friends is a major lie because since childhood I have always been the sickly daughter.

Anyway, when I decided to register for the summit some five days ago, it took so much effort and major thinking. I have always thought organizing bloggers’ conferences was lame. Pardon my snobbery. Because I thought, oh well, that defeats the purpose of creating online blogging communities, which are supposed to be virtual. Right? But then again, come to think of it, my reasons are kind of lame too if you look at it from another perspective. Humans always have this constant need for face-to-face social interaction, which virtual interactivity cannot satisfy. Sometimes you feel the desire to associate a “real” face to the virtual “blogger” identity.

One of my reasons for registering was to really find out who blogs in Mindanao. Meeting them means gaining a wide network that might translate to more comments in my blog and increasing hits. Get it? Get it? Plus the summit organizers promised lots of prizes! And there are even shirts for sale. šŸ˜¦

But so much for sour-graping. In the end, I just had to accept the fact that my body is telling me to rest. And rest I will.

See you next time in next year’s summit anyway. šŸ™‚ (If there will be a next time)

Comments
  1. momo says:

    Hey Ms. D, you’re not alone: I too am currently battling a superduperBUG that feels like the H5-1 strain of avian flu. My fever rose continuously for days on end and with a horrendous cough that felt like TB, I was barely breathing at one point. Ended up in the emergency room where they sent me home with prescriptions for antibiotics, an inhaler, and an injunction to QUIT SMOKING. Me, quit smoking?!? And do what? There’s nothing else to do around this godforsaken bleak, benighted wasteland which everyone else but me refers to as the City of Angels.

  2. mandayamoore says:

    sayang, nagkita unta ta didto.

    i wasnt feeling well sad gahapon. nisilip ra ko

  3. KK says:

    hope you’re ok na, australia had a really bad winter this year with ppl getting sick so many times and really bad too, 6 kids died because of the flu. careful lang if you come here during winter season šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

