Overhead #4: On the Banaue Rice Terraces

Posted: July 17, 2007 in All and Sundry, Musings, Random Observations

“the banaue rice terraces is a product of a humane culture.” from ligaya, my favorite architect/teacher. , she was referring to the banaue rice terraces in luzon, philippines

above is my best quote of the day. it was spoken during our discussions earlier about the recently publicized list of new seven wonders of the world. (the list was decided after an election among experts from different countries. ) ligaya mentioned something very agreeable: that most of those “wonders” or historical structures were constructed/built with based on violence, caprice and greed and are vestiges–reminders of a long history of slave labor. while the banaue rice terraces was created not by slaves, not as military strategy, not based on the greed and caprice of one leader. it was a product of communal efforts of a community willing to work together for their own survival through humane means.

“if there’s an election today, and the banaue rice terraces is nominated, i’ll be proud to vote for it,” ligaya said.

that my friends is a mouthful of wisdom. 🙂

Comments
  1. Lazolounge says:

    Wow…I’m amazed I stumbled upon your blog.

    The Banaue Rice Terraces have been my schtick since the release of the new seven wonders list. I cringe, they dare say “official”.

    Banaue should be included in the roster – for being a structure built with bare hands to provide a living for the Ifugaos thousands of years ago, that continues to provide a living for these mountain people until now. And it’s not tourism, like what the other seven wonders provide for. But rice to eat.

    Could I quote Teacher Ligaya in the maiden issue of my company newsletter? I run a destination management company.

  2. sure you can quote her. 🙂 glad you agree with me.

  3. […] Overhead #4: On the Banaue Rice Terraces“the banaue rice terraces is a product of a humane culture.” from ligaya, my favorite architect/teacher. , she was referring to the banaue rice terraces in luzon, philippines above is my best quote of the day. it was spoken during our … […]

  4. […] Overhead #4: On the Banaue Rice Terraces“the banaue rice terraces is a product of a humane culture.” from ligaya, my favorite architect/teacher. , she was referring to the banaue rice terraces in luzon, philippines above is my best quote of the day. it was spoken during our … […]

Leave a Reply

