tranh an hung in mindanao (and oh, josh harnett too)

Posted: July 11, 2007 in All and Sundry, Stumbled Upon

i’m not a josh harnett fan but this latest news made me drop my jaw. if not for sheer mastery of emotional control, i would have shrieked so loud my neighbors would have definitely awoken. of course i didn’t scream but just went gaga over the whole thing with nino.

“nins, nins, josh harnett is filming in mindanao!” nino reacts with “really? when? perhaps he was that guy i saw sometime in sm last week.” to which i replied: “and guess what? tranh an hung is the director of the movie!!!!” i almost shouted. but since it was already midnight and our neighbors were already asleep, i had to lower my voice a little and contain my excitement.

you see, i am a huge fan of tranh an hung ever since i watched his as yet most celebrated film “scent of green papayas” almost ten years ago. roger ebert calls this film “a film to cherish.” what amazes me till now is that the film was shot entirely on soundstage in Paris but the setting of the movie is Vietnam.

my love for this movie pushed me to even write a scholarly paper on it for theory class in graduate studies. if you saw the film, you would really understand my excitement over the possibility of meeting the director.

nino then goes, “but if he visits davao, i’ll be the one to interview him ha. just me.” he smiled mischievously at me. “no way” i thought. if i get the chance to interview this director, i’d really seize the moment. that is, IF i get to interview him.

everything seems to be hush-hush as of the moment. the only details i got was from the mindanews article (found here), which states the location of the shoot and the time shooting period starts. they’re going to be in mt. diwalwal for certain. and that’s soooo far from where we are. plus, we’re obviously not gonna be able to penetrate the cordon sanitaire. so what keeps us going is just wishful thinking, really.

but then who knows what Luck will bring us?

Comments
  1. Shiira says:

    If you get to meet Josh Hartnett, isama mo ako!!!

    Not that big a fan of Josh, too. I just want to see him because he’s gwapo. And you know that it’s not very often that we get to see someone gwapo.

  2. ella says:

    my tatay told me about it last month. haha mas excited pa sya sakin, it’s weird. ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. clee says:

    WTF! (i am shouting, on top of my lungs, inside the Internet cafe at 12:05 am NOW)

    REALLY?

  4. yes. really gyud. as in. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Wellness says:

    Hey

    I was surfing the web and i saw this site, pretty cool.
    Currently im running and adult site:Wellness
    k, just want to say hi ๐Ÿ™‚
    Can i link you from my site? im looking for quality content like yours. If no let me know if i can add u in exchange for a montly fee or something.

Leave a Reply

