I put a spell on you

Posted: July 7, 2007 in All and Sundry, Stumbled Upon

this is for my friend kiday who loves nina simone for her “masterful phrasing,” among other reasons. listening to this song over and over still makes my heart soar. the last parts of this video really makes me want to stand up in applause. sa mga bayot pa, pakpak jud day! i so love nina simone, the high priestess of soul. she’s up there with ella fritzgerald, billy holiday, sarah vaughan (who by the way has a video on youtube with her singing somewhere over the rainbow!) and perhaps, eva cassidy. they make life seem better. πŸ™‚

Comments
  1. globetrotteri says:

    Nina Simone is one of my all time favorite artists. I especially like listening to her when I have the house to myself and I can sing along.

    A few of my favorites are: In The Morning, Put A Little Sugar In My Bowl, Here Comes The Sun and Day and Night.

  2. ditto. i like singing along to her when i’m cleaning the house. sinnerman is the last song in her “the best of nina” collection and it’s the last song that caps my cleaning “party” which usually ends in my room. πŸ™‚

    i love Four Women by the way.

  3. dan says:

    tsk tsk, i wanted to listen but i dont have the means, so i just watched the video, i have her songs in mp3, as well as holiday, fitzgerald, vaughan, and cassidy hehehe tsk tsk, you are right, lifes good when you are listening to them πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

