300 Poems of the Tang Dynasty

Posted: April 13, 2007 in All and Sundry, Stumbled Upon

chinese-poem-in-the-tang-dynasty.jpg“Literature endures like the universal spirit/And its breath becomes a part of the vitals of men.” – Li Shang-Yin from Three Hundred Poems of the Tang Dynasty

Life is like a box of books, you’ll never know what you’re going to get. 🙂 I discovered I had this book Three Hundred Poems of the Tang Dynasty when I opened the box my sister brought from Cagayan de Oro (CDO).

As I had directed, my brother had packed in a box some of the books I left in our house in my hometown Dumaguete, and brought the box with him to our house in CDO for my sister to bring here when she returns.

The other day, when my sister texted me that she had arrived in Davao, I couldn’t wait to go home from work to be with my books. Later when I opened the box, I discovered that I had old books that are difficult to find here. Aside from Three Hundred Poems of the Tang Dynasty, I have a hardbound copy of Aristotle’s Poetics (with a commentary for students of literature) that has yellowing pages, and another hardbound copy of Women in Praise of the Sacred, which is anthology of women’s writing, mostly poetry and verse, that dates back to Innana.

I’m definitely quite contented having my old books with me despite the dusts that cover most of their pages. I can always clean them right? 🙂 With these books around, I feel like I have a part of home with me.

Comments
  1. liguified says:

    wooohooo!

  2. Boy George says:

    Oh wait. Yes, I have. I’m sorry, but I just don’t have it in me right now to type it all out again. Besides, it was just ramblings anyway. You didn’t want to hear me go on and on about this, right?

Leave a Reply

