On Books

Posted: March 22, 2007 in All and Sundry, Musings, Random Observations, Stumbled Upon

Got this from Johnnypanic after I successfully convinced him to tag me.

1. One book that changed your life.

Allow me to dodge the question. Actually there are 3 books so far. One for each twist in my life. First is The Little Prince by Antoine St. Exupery because it’s the first book I read as a kid that made me want to read books.

Second would be Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger. I know it’s not that uncommon (most writers I know would say this book changed their lives). But indeed Holden spoke to me more than any other character did back then. It was the 90s, grunge was IN, angst is a catchphrase, and I was an awkward teener trying to make sense of the world.

Third and not the last is a novel by underrated 60s novelist Richard Yates entitled The Easter Parade, which fictionist Timothy Montes loaned to me. I know don’t have to state the reasons why that novel changed my life. All I can say is that every part was an illuminating parallelism. After that, I was a converted Richard Yates fan. Three years after, Tim gave me Revolutionary Road, Yate’s much celebrated novel, which unfortunately lost to Walker Percy’s The Moviegoers in the National Book Award (1961).

Trivia (from wikipedia): In Woody Allen’s Hannah and Her Sisters the Barbara Hershey character thanks the Michael Caine character for lending her The Easter Parade, which she says was great.

2. One book you have read more than once.

Hmmm… The books I use for the courses I teach in the university. So many to mention. There’s Gloria Anzaldua’s The Bridge Called my Back. This book never tires me. It’s the kind that makes me go “yes, yes, yes” while reading.

3. One book you would want on a desert island.

Honestly, I can’t think of an answer to this. All I can think of is that I’ll be whining about the heat most of the time, I won’t even consider reading a book.

4. One book that made you laugh.

Aah!Definitely, Still Life with Woodpecker by Tom Robbins. Wow! This book tickled me from cover to cover. (It’s a book every smoker should read)

5. One book that made you cry.

I’ve cried over so many books for various reasons. Even chicklit love stories made me cry. The most recent? Four years ago, I sobbed intermittently while reading the short stories in ZZ Packer’s Drinking Coffee Elsewhere.

6. One book you wish had been written.

Can’t think of anything. I guess everything has been written about. I guess.

7. One book you wish had never been written.

I prefer not to answer this question.

8. One book you are currently reading.

I just finished Rick Moody’s Purple America. I’m planning to read The Universe of Albert Einstein again for an art project I’m planning to do, as well as, try to finish the books that are currently on hold in my shelf because I’m too busy marking papers at night: Beth Yahp’s Crocodile Fury, Susan Sontag’s Against Interpretation (because Johnnypanic just returned it and raved about it), and I guess, Donna Haraway’s Simians, Cyborgs and Women (because I want to be able to discuss Haraway with Paul and hopefully not get lost in the weeds of jargon). All these within summer, hopefully.

9. One book you have been meaning to read.

Any book by Haruki Murakami. I don’t know why I never got sincerely excited over his work. Nobody has convinced me to read his book. Perhaps one of these days someone will lend me a novel by Murakami and who knows, I’ll be moved by it.

***

Tag: liguefied, dennis the menace, smoothriver, jerrywho, rosie, kaladkarin, thursday, moonjunkie, tricky trixie

Leave a Reply

