Coincidence or Fate?

Posted: March 14, 2007 in All and Sundry, Musings

paolo-dy.jpgGosh! Is it merely coincidence? Or is there some tinge of Fate playing here? Give me a good reason why the latest Filipino flimmaker who made waves in the international film industry has my surname– DY. Is the universe telling me something? That I have it in my blood after all to be a filmmaker or a cinematographer for that matter? Or, as usual, I’m just pulling my leg and so you can bring me back to earth now. (Earth to Claire Dy 3X).

How I discovered Paolo Dy is I guess another matter of Fate vs. Chance. (Sorry guys, Michael Caine’s whole discussion on this subject matter in the movie Children of Men really stuck to me) You see, my friend Clee, a videodocumentarist and filmmaker based in Cebu (his first documentary Ritwal was finalist in last year’s filmfest held in the province), left a comment on two of my blog entries. And so like any calculated stalker/blog lurker, I followed the trail (using investigative journalism geek speak) and was directed to one of Clee’s blogs on the subject of film and filmmaking. There, I read his entry on Paolo Dy, this man who has the same surname as mine, and I quote :

Filipino cinematographer enters Spielberg show for filmmakers.

ON THE LOT
From Mark Burnett, Steven Spielberg and DreamWorks Television, ON THE LOT affords aspiring filmmakers the opportunity of a lifetime: a $1-million DreamWorks development deal. Over the season, the 16 filmmakers will produce short films in every genre every week and the viewers will vote on who gets eliminated. The show will premiere with a one-hour auditions episode on Wednesday, May 16.

Watch Mr. Dy’s 5-minute, chilling short film, “QWERTY” at http://films.thelot.com/films/19175. The ending is a killer, really! ALL-OUT votes to him, now!

***

So tell me, what do you make of this sharing the same surname phenomenon? *grin* My guess is as good as yours. But one thing I gotta to say is congratulations to you Paolo Dy who has my surname! I hope you’ll continously make us proud.

Comments
  1. MOONJUNKIE says:

    (puppy dreamy eyes) sigh…

  2. Paolo Dy says:

    Hey “cousin”! 🙂 Thanks for the kind words, much appreciated.

    Unsolicited advice: if you really want to be a filmmaker, don’t hinge your decision on surnames. If you feel it in your blood, then you’re a filmmaker, period. 🙂 Go for it!

    (But okay, if you really want to talk about surnames: in Chinese, our surname is the same as that of Ang Lee. How’s that for a “sign”? 😀 haha)

Leave a Reply

