Recent Memorable Lines

Posted: September 20, 2006 in All and Sundry

What I mean by memorable lines dear friends, are those that are funny, stupid, annoying, and sexy. Here are some I encountered just recently:

1. BACA DES NE!

Mental memory: Dencio diving unto the cement grounds of the UPMin atrium in the presence of his astonished students. *guffaw. Sorry Dens, but yes, this does remind me NOT to join in games of tigso and other games that require me to be an adroit fastrunner. hehehe. More on his story here.

2. “tonight love is rationed, tonight across the nation, tonight love infects worldwide, almost another day, see you some other day…” lyrics from the soundtrack of the anime “Bleach.”

This lines are one of my major LSSs. Gaad. The lyrics are hilarious especially when you sing them with feelings, with matching singsong voice, and cutesy choreography ala characters of Sailor Moon. Dream wear: really super duper short skirts and a pair of knee-high Doc Martens.

3. I have to go the LOO

*guffaw. When I heard Smoothriver say this aloud in the middle of KL Sentral, I couldn’t help but giggle. I wanted to laugh actually, but I was afraid I might be misunderstood. Honestly, that was the first time I heard someone say the word “loo” so naturally. Being educated in American English, I rarely get to hear this word being used in my country. If you don’t get it, think this: here, we don’t even say toilet, we say comfort room! Bwahahaha. I was so happy to finally hear someone say “loo” that I literally wrote about it in my journal. I’m such a sucker for funny surprises.

4. off with their heads!

Mental memory: the queen of hearts in alice in wonderland screaming at the top of her lungs is superimposed by the image of my gay friend screaming at his two-timing sixteen year-old ex-boyfriend who dumped him after sucking his finances dry. Go figure.

5. Jamae (the teacher): What was our national hero Jose Rizal’s last words before he died?

Student: “I shall return.”

Jamae: If that did happen, then we would have easily won the revolution considering that the Spaniards would be running away in fear of Rizal’s ghost.”

Correct answer: ‘consummatum est

“I shall return” was spoken by McArthur when the Americans abandoned the Philippines during Jap-American War.

6. no worries

My sisters have taken to saying if given the chance just to make me laugh. I’m still not comfortable hearing these words.

The first time I heard it, I immediately muttered: “I’m not worried.”

Until I learned it wasn’t really what I thought it meant. Hehe.

7. reasonable

Yes, I’ve heard the word used in a different way.When me and my friends were talking to a Kiwi or someone who’s from New Zealand, one of my friends asked: “So, do you find Filipinas beautiful?”

The Kiwi man answered: “Uhmm.. reasonable. Reasonably beautiful.”

*guffaw again. In the Philippines, we use the word reasonable to refer to rates or prices. Example: T-shirts at Young’s Emporium are sold at reasonable prices.

8.. “the semantic malleabilty of char amidst the stasis of bongga.” Douglas’s essay title.

This one’s ingenious. Char and bongga are terms used in swardspeak or gayspeak.

Variations of char: charmus, charing, etc. It functions as a filler.

For example:

Girl: I’m so depressed. I miss him so much. I’m gonna die.”

Answer: Char! You’re such a drama queen.

Bongga can literally mean: beatiful, superb, amazing, and all other superlatives that’s synonimous to the ones earlier mentioned.

Variations of bongga: bonggacious, bonggadera, etc.

Usage: say it with flare as in, BONGAAA!

For example:

Girl1: OMG, I saw this gay pageant last week and the contestant was wearing Elizabeth 1 costume.

Girl2: Bongga! As in it’s very hard to find a costume like that baya mam!

Girl1: yeah, I agree. Bonggacious jud. As in.

9. so you just came from Japan? So you’re a Japayuiki, huh?

On my way to the Manila airport, the taxi driver asked me this question to my consternation. I literally got tongue-tied and kept wondering why he thought I was a Japayuki, then surmised that it was probably because of my dyed hair and big hoop silver earrings.

Here, Japayuki is often considered as a derogatory term used to describe a Filipina who works as an entertainer in Japan. There’s a physical stereotype of how a Japayuki looks like: dyed hair, big earrings, bleached skin, and really high platform shoes. And the thing is, even though you aren’t a Japayuki, but you fit the descritption, people would often mistake you as being one.

10. no balance, no balance!

This is one of my favorites. At first I thought this meant: “No standing and balancing yourself in the aisle. All passegers should sit.”

Spoken to me by a bus driver in KL. Actually, he shouted at me: “no balance! No balance!” I couldn’t understand what he was saying, so I gave him a ten ringgit bill only to realized that he wont’ give me change. Here’s how language differences become a problem. Back home, we say: no change. So I spent one night, grumbling about how I wasted a few ringgit for a fucking bus ride to Bukit Bintang. Grr. Back home again, if the driver refuses to give you change, people would make life veeeeeeery difficult for him. But I wasn’t in the Philippines. So I just kept complaining with my Filipino companions about how intolerable it was. Besides, the bus didn’t have a sign that says, no balance, no balance.

11. “Ako si Sailor Moon ang magandang tagapagtanggol ng pagibig at katarungan!” (I am Sailor Moon. The beautfiful hero of love and justice!)

Mental picture: ShiraMegumi raising her imaginary staff like Sailor Moon, one leg spread to the side ala Catherine Zeta Jones in All That Jazz.

My colleagues all suffer from Jap Anime mania. I’m a little clueless. So they always have fun regaling me with impromptu imitations of their best-loved characters. And I tell them: “I remember falling in love with Euegene in Ghostfighter.” They agreed he was kinda cute.

Comments
  1. M.D. Suave says:

    Japayuki, a japanese word, is a bad word being called by our working women in Japan. Many seems to accept it although they don’t know the meaning of it. Probably it is a good sounding name. I hope the real meaning be understood and using of this word be stopped.

    Japayuki or Japayuki-san are foreign prostitutes in Japan.
    It comes from the word Karayuki. From the Edo Period to
    the end of WW2 when Japan was poor, there were many
    Japanese women who were “going = yuki” mainly for
    prostitution in foreign land in particular southeast
    Asia which was a land of “Chinese influence = Kara”,
    and they were called Karayuki/Karayuki-san.

    by Uco

    Go to this link:
    http://www.japan-guide.com/forum/quereadisplay.html?0+4773

    japayuki (from urban dictionary)

    Meaning: Prostitute in japan of usually foreign extraction, mainly filipinas.

    Go to link:
    http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=japayuki

    ‘Japayuki’ call on Filipinos a slur. An article from Manila Bulletin.

    See this link: http://www.articlearchives.com/labor-employment/human-resources-personnel-management/732212-1.html

Leave a Reply

