A Note About Sisterhood

Posted: August 9, 2006 in All and Sundry

JerryWho recently wrote this statement about brotherhood in his blog:
“Some people, you’d call them ‘Friends’; but some friends are chosen to be ‘Brothers’, because brotherhood, is matter of a lifetime.”

Brotherhood for some may not be a matter of blood, but for me, Sisterhood is as thick as blood.

The picture in this entry shows Rose, one of my sisters who are twins. The other twin’s name is Pearl and she happens to be eating somewhere in this room when Maita took this picture. You know Pearl, she loves to eat a lot and she never grows fat. She’s the kind of person who only get’s really annoyed and temperemental when she’s hungry.

Rose just cut her long curly locks short for the first time and she’s feeling like Kerri Russel in Felicity with that matching cutesy college girl smile.

My Sisterhood is not a huge bunch of giggly girls and women. If you come to think of it, we are actually like the Yaya Sisterhood with our own brand of quirks and bag of tricks and wonderful brains to boot or more like the Powerpuff Girls out to rid the world of idiots and monkeys like Mojojojo and are set to paint the world with colors other than black. Accordng to Rose, I’m supposed to be Blossom because I’m the oldest and the leader of the group. Rose is Bubbles and Pearl is of course, Buttercup because when she’s cranky she does act like the cartoon character.

The twins are eight years younger than me (way younger) but we always have a way of filling the age gap between us partly because I am an adult suffering from Peter Pan syndrome. (My students once said I remind them of Lois Carroll).

These cool duo is one of the major reasons why I try to make sense of the world even if at times the world laughs back at me. Being their “mother”/sister/”friend” may be a tough job but then again, the rewards are fifty times more precious and as Jerry said, “a matter of lifetime.”

I rely on this sisterhood more than anything else because I know that if something happens to me, they’d be the first to rush over and give me a hand despite a few grumbles of “why did you do that manang? ah manang, you did not take care of yourself!” They’d be the first to pick a fight if ever some stupid idiot would even attempt to mess with me. They are my posse, my gang, the kind willing to roll up their sleeves and ask for a boxing match or make that karate or wushu ala Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon. (They could name themselves the Magic Twins and have identical looking swords or something)

And like Blossom, I’ll also do the same for them in a heartbeat.

Which brings me to the point that Sisterhood is something that has to be nurtured as time passes. It is a bond as thick as blood but beyond blood (even if you are bloodsisters), it is also beyond friendship. Sisterhood is a matter of soul, and most of all, a matter of heart. It is a bond that exists through worlds, worlds, worlds….

Comments
  1. JerryWho says:

    sensei… i really need to learn english to write like that. 😛

  2. reefer says:

    hahaha. don’t pull my leg. you already know how to read and write english! i’m the one who’s supposed to learn chinese so i can read your blog.
    but if that’s meant to be a compliment. well thank you gakusee. :p

  3. maitita says:

    aww… that was so touching. i have three sisters and i wonder if they’ll pick fights for me. probably laugh me off instead… ;p

  4. maitita says:

    This post has been removed by the author.

  5. reefer says:

    maitita, you’ll be surprised…

  6. Anonymous says:

    ma’am tabang sa travel essay be. maayo pa ka kay naga-travel ka. daghan ka ug masulat.

Leave a Reply

